Hot topics close

A-League Grand Final LIVE: Sydney FC vs Melbourne City


Melbourne City came out firing against Sydney FC early and were unlucky not to take the lead in their maiden A-League Grand Final.

After five shots in the opening 10 minutes, and a shot cleared off the line from Craig Noone, City thought they’d finally broken the deadlock in the 18th minute, until VAR intervened.

Follow in the live blog below from 6.30pm AEST!

A Harrison Delbridge strike from just outside the box beat Andrew Redmayne, but after further consideration, referee Chris Beath decided Lachlan Wales, in an offside position, impaired the Sydney goalkeeper’s eyesight.

VAR denies City perfect start

VAR denies City perfect start


Not long after, Sydney striker Adam le Fondre appeared to be brought down by Curtis Good in the box, with penalty shouts ignored by Beath, and backed up by VAR.


Le Fondre penalty waved away

Le Fondre penalty waved away


The Sky Blues looked far more comfortable after the break, growing into the game and regaining control.

As City pushed for a goal of their own, Noone scuffed a shot from a Florin Berenguer cutback in the 75th minute, before Scott Galloway forced Redmayne into a tough save just three minutes later with a tricky long-range effort.

Glover once again denied Sydney in the 89th minute as his right leg blocked what would have been a dramatic late Nathaniel Atkinson own goal.

A-League's best DENIED in GF

A-League's best DENIED in GF


Watch every match of the 2019/20 Hyundai A-League Finals LIVE on Kayo. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >


Sydney FC: Andrew Redmayne, Rhyan Grant, Joel King, Ryan McGowan, Alex Wilkinson, Paulo Retre, Anthony Caceres, Luke Brattan, Milos Ninkovic, Adam le Fondre, Kosta Barbarouses

Bench: Thomas Heward-Belle, Harry Van der Saag, Ben Warland, Alexander Baumjohann, Chris Zuvela, Trent Buhagiar, Luke Ivanovic

Melbourne City: Tom Glover, Harrison Delbridge, Nathaniel Atkinson, Richard Windbichler, Curtis Good, Joshua Brillante, Adrian Luna, Florin Berenguer, Jamie Maclaren, Lachlan Wales, Craig Noone

Bench: Joe Gauci, Scott Galloway, Stefan Colakovski, Rostyn Griffiths, Connor Metcalfe, Ramy Najjarine, Moudi Najjar

FOLLOW LIVE! (If you can’t see the blog, click here)

Similar shots