Hot topics close

Has Chelsea ever won the FIFA Club World Cup? Which Premier League clubs have claimed the intercontinental trophy?

With Chelsea set to begin its Club World Cup journey in Abu Dhabi, here's a breakdown of all the English clubs to have participated in the event in the past.

Chelsea is set to begin play in the FIFA Club World Cup on Feb. 9 and the Blues are the favorites in the competition over the other teams from around the globe participating in the tournament.

As the UEFA Champions League title holders, Chelsea earned the right to compete in the annual event alongside the other continental champions. It’s the Blues’ second appearance in the tournament, last competing in the 2012 edition.

The European participant is nearly always favored, but the South American representative nearly always sports plenty of firepower. The Copa Libertadores winner Palmeiras has already advanced to the final after winning its semifinal over African champions Al Ahly. 

MORE: Prize money for FIFA Club World Cup

The Blues match up against AFC Champions League winners Al-Hilal in the semifinals, with the Saudi club managed by former Monaco boss Leonardo Jardim.

Familiarising ourselves with surroundings! ???? #ClubWorldCup

— Chelsea FC (@ChelseaFC) February 8, 2022
Has Chelsea ever won the FIFA Club World Cup?

Chelsea has only appeared in the tournament once before, in 2012, and the Blues fell to Brazilian side Corinthians in the final. The FIFA Club World Cup is the only major international title missing from Chelsea's trophy case.

The Chelsea loss in 2012 is also the last time the European participant did not win the crown. Since, every FIFA Club World Cup has been won by the UEFA Champions League title holder.

MORE: 2022 Club World Cup bracket & schedule

Only two English clubs have won the title, with Manchester United winning in 2008 with a 1-0 final win over Ecuadorian side LDU Quito, while Liverpool won it in 2019 with a 1-0 defeat of Flamengo in the title bout.

???? ????#ClubWorldCup

— Chelsea FC (@ChelseaFC) February 8, 2022

Chelsea is not the only English side to fall in the Club World Cup final. In 2005, just the second edition of the competition, Liverpool was defeated 1-0 by Brazilian club Sao Paulo in the final.

Below is a full rundown of all FIFA Club World Cup winners and runners-up since the new tournament format was introduced in 2000. (The 2001 tournament was cancelled due to the collapse of FIFA marketing partner ISL and the event did not resume again until 2005.)

Year Host Winner Score Runners-Up 2000 Brazil Corinthians 0-0 (4-3 PKs) Vasco da Gama 2005 Japan Sao Paulo 1-0 Liverpool 2006 Japan Internacional 1-0 Barcelona 2007 Japan AC Milan 4-2 Boca Juniors 2008 Japan Man United 1-0 LDU Quito 2009 UAE Barcelona 2-1 (a.e.t.) Estudiantes 2010 UAE Inter Milan 3-0 TP Mazembe 2011 Japan Barcelona 4-0 Santos 2012 Japan Corinthians 1-0 Chelsea 2013 Morocco Bayern Munich 2-0 Raja Casablanca 2014 Morocco Real Madrid 2-0 San Lorenzo 2015 Japan Barcelona 3-0 River Plate 2016 Japan Real Madrid 4-2 (a.e.t.) Kashima Antlers 2017 UAE Real Madrid 1-0 Gremio 2018 UAE Real Madrid 4-1 Al-Ain 2019 Qatar Liverpool 1-0 (a.e.t.) Flamengo 2020 Qatar Bayern Munich 1-0 UANL Tigres
Similar shots